# Catastrophic Illness in Children Relief Fund Commission Open Minutes October 2, 2019 140 E. Front Street 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Trenton, NJ 08625

The meeting was called to order by J. Prontnicki at 9:34 AM. J. Prontnicki announced that in compliance with the New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act, the specifics as to time and place of this meeting were sent to the Office of the Secretary of State and the Department of Personnel for filing and posted on the official bulletin boards provided by those offices for notice of public meetings. Also, notices were prepared for two newspapers to inform the public of this meeting. J. Prontnicki conducted a roll call of members as follows:

#### Present:

Janice Prontnicki, Chairperson Ellen DeRosa, Vice-Chairperson Dawn Mergen Phyllis Shanley Hansell Carl Underland Anthony Valenzuela Howard Weinberg

## Excused:

Ralph J. Condo Steve Shultz

### **Guest:**

Ragner Jaeger, DAG Jeanette Barnard, DAG

### **Staff:**

Christian Heiss, Executive Director Janet Valentin-Forte, Secretary to the Commission Amy Taklif, Analyst

# Flag Salute: Led by J. Prontnicki

# Agenda Approval:

E. DeRosa made a motion to approve the proposed meeting agenda for today's meeting. D. Mergen seconded the motion. All Commission members voted in favor.

# Approval of Open Minutes of August 14, 2019 Meeting:

E. DeRosa made a motion to approve the open minutes of August 14, 2019, with an amendment which was seconded by D. Mergen. All Commission members voted in favor of approving the open minutes.

### **Approval of Closed Minutes of August 14, 2019 Meeting:**

E. DeRosa made a motion to approve the closed minutes of August 14, 2019, which was seconded by P. Shanley Hansell. All Commission members voted in favor of approving the closed minutes.

# Treasurer's Report:

Executive Director C. Heiss gave a current Fund update and provided a draft Fiscal Year 2021 Budget which will be reviewed by the Personnel & Finance Committee before being presented to the Commission for approval at the next Commission meeting.

# **Closed Session:**

P. Shanley Hansell made a motion to go into closed session to review and discuss applications, which was seconded by E. DeRosa. All Commission members voted in favor.

# **Review of Applications:**

# **Appeals:**

ID#206912018 – E. DeRosa made a motion to overturn the ineligible determination of this application. P. Shanley Hansell seconded the motion. All Commission members voted in favor.

ID#209192018 – E. DeRosa made a motion to uphold the ineligible determination of this application. P. Shanley Hansell seconded the motion. All Commission members voted in favor.

# Eligibles:

E. DeRosa made a motion to approve eligible applications, with the exception of ID#205702018 and ID #214252019, for which additional information is necessary. The motion was seconded by P. Shanley Hansell. All Commission members voted in favor.

### **Reconsiderations:**

E. DeRosa made a motion to approve all reconsideration recommendations, as presented, which was seconded by P. Shanley Hansell. All Commission members voted in favor.

### **Ineligibles:**

E. DeRosa made a motion to accept the ineligible determinations, as presented;

With the exception of ID#217522019, as the analyst requested that the application be removed from the Ineligible batch prior to the Commission meeting due to receipt of additional materials from the family, and

With the exception of ID#215922019, ID#217872019, ID#218442019 and ID #219252019, as they were withdrawn by the families.

The motion was seconded by P. Shanley Hansell. All Commission members voted in favor.

The Commission requested that withdrawn applications be presented in a "withdrawn" category rather than as ineligible.

#### **Closed Session:**

P. Shanley Hansell made a motion to go into closed session, to discuss the posting of closed minutes on the Commission's Website, which was seconded by S. Shultz. All Commission members voted in favor.

#### **Closed Session:**

E. DeRosa made a motion to go into closed session, to discuss personnel issues, which was seconded by S. Shultz. All Commission members voted in favor.

#### Adjournment:

Motion to adjourn meeting made by H. Weinberg and seconded by E. DeRosa. All Commission members voted in favor. Meeting was adjourned at 12:00pm.